Apple of my Eye

What’s not to love about apples? They’re so versatile – they make a super easy grab-and-go snack, and are great for baking! Whether they’re baked, dipped in caramel, or made into a delicious pie or cobbler, they’ll never leave your palate bored!

A couple weeks ago, I received a package from Canterbury Naturals, and in it was an apple cake mix – Little Grandma’s Northwest Apple Cake mix to be exact! Today I figured I’d give it a try!

Canterbury Naturals Little Grandma’s Northwest Apple Cake Mix

Overall Score: 4/5

The instructions for this mix were super easy! All you had to do was add 2 cups of chopped apples (peeled or unpeeled) and two eggs to the package mix…

I also decided to add about a 1/4 cup chopped crystalized ginger for some spice.

Then, all I had to do was mix it all up…

The directions on the mix said there was no need for any extra liquid to be added, but the batter was really dry, so I decided to add a couple tablespoons of plain yogurt.

The yogurt really did the trick. It moistened it up just enough, without making the batter too watery.

Then, I just poured the batter into a non-greased loaf pan (you could use a cake pan, or any other pan that you want, as well)

And pop it in the oven for about 45-55 minutes!

So, my apple bread/cake didn’t come out looking all that pretty, and it fell a little in the middle, but let me tell you – it tasted amazing! It had a nice, crisp outer “shell” or crust, that i actually really liked! Then on the inside, the apples got nice and caramelized and soft, and it had a great consistency! It was so light and airy, and very moist and sweet! I also highly recommend the addition of the crystallized ginger, because it sort of melted into the cakes, and gave it a nice sweet kick, and really balanced about the spices that were already in the mix! The cake tasted like something between gingerbread and apple pie!

Canterbury Naturals also offers a whole variety of other mixes, ranging from crepes, pancakes, muffins, flatbreads, cakes, brownies, fudge, soups, and scones! They also have delicious hot beverage mixes, one of which I was lucky enough to try!

Canterbury Naturals Snuggle Up Vanilla White Cocoa Mix

Overall Score: 3/5

This was really good! It was sweet, and creamy, and does the trick to warm you up on a cold morning! It’s pretty much what you’d expect a white hot cocoa to be – with a nice vanilla flavor. I’m not a huge white chocolate fan myself, but I thought that this was pretty good! Once thing to be sure of though, is no matter what, do not add this to just water! I made the mistake of not reading the package well enough, and added to it water instead of hot milk… and it wasn’t a pretty sight! Make sure that you make this with milk! I also added in some caramel flavored coffee creamer to it, which just made it all the more decadent!

Leave a Reply

